The PFL Reveals Details Of Women’s Lightweight Division

The Professional Fighters League (PFL) has unveiled the line up for its women’s lightweight division. It will have eight competitors battling out for the $1 million prize at the end of the season.

Kayla Harrison and Sarah Kaufman are the two stand out stars confirmed to take part in the eight woman tournament. Harrison is a two time Olympic gold medalist in judo and has an unblemished MMA record of 3-0. All three wins coming by way of a finish in PFL’s first season, last year.

Former Invicta FC and Strikeforce bantamweight champion Kaufman, has a 20-4 record and has fought three times in the UFC. She will be moving up from the 135lbs bantamweight division to the 155lbs lightweight division.

Along side Harrison and Kaufman, the other six competitors are Genah Fabian, Bobbi Jo Dalziel, Svetlana Khautova, Roberta Samad, Larissa Pacheco and Morgan Frier.

The PFL has a completely unique format. Competitors gain points for wins and can earn bonus points for early finishes. The fighters with the most points at the end of the season move on to the playoffs. The season will start on May 9th, with the PFL Championship going down on New Year’s Eve.

PFL President Ray Sefo, said of the new upcoming PFL season:

“PFL is the only major MMA organisation with a women’s lightweight division. Fans are going to love this talented group of women athletes competing for a world title and the $1 million prize. Kayla Harrison is a US household name and the favorite heading into the season, but she’ll be facing strong competition from around the world, including top fighters from Brazil, Canada, New Zealand, and Russia who want to enforce their will in the cage.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.